• Uber Safety Notice

Do you know how often Uber is required to check a driver's record?


Uber is considered a Transportation Network Company by the California Public Utilities Commission, which regulates Uber in California.


The Commission requires that Uber review its drivers' DMV records to ensure that they have no more than 3 points and no “major violations” (reckless driving, hit and run, or driving with a suspended license conviction) within the preceding 3 years, and no driving under the influence conviction within the past 7 years.

Because of a special program with the DMV, the DMV provides Uber with timely notice when any of the following are added to an Uber driver’s record:

  • Convictions

  • Accidents

  • Failure to appear

  • Driver’s license suspension or revocation

  • Any other action taken against the driving privilege

If you or a loved one has been injured by an Uber driver, we recommend that you contact us for a free evaluation of your potential claim against Uber. Contact us here. One of the first we will try to determine, by contacting the DMV and Uber on your behalf, is whether Uber reviewed their driver's DMV records for prior violations as required by the Commission in California. You don't have to stand up to Uber alone.

3 views0 comments

© 2020 by Watson Law Group, APC.  All Rights Reserved. Attorney Advertising.