• Uber Claims

Uber required to carry at least $1,000,000 in minimum insurance coverage for its drivers


Uber is considered a transportation network company under California law and is regulated by the California Public Utilities Commission.


Cal. Pub. Util. Code § 5433(b)(1) requires that Uber maintain minimum insurance coverage of $1,000,000 the moment an Uber driver driver accepts a ride request on the Uber app until the ride is complete. The insurance must provide coverage for death, personal injury, and property damage. Cal. Pub. Util. Code § 5433(b).


Cal. Pub. Util. Code § 5433(b)(2) also requires Uber to maintain minimum insurance coverage of $1,000,000 for uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage from the moment an Uber passenger enters the vehicle until he or she exits the vehicle.


Uber is also required to maintain minimum insurance coverage of $50,000 for death and personal injury per person, $100,000 for death and personal injury per incident, $30,000 for property damage, and $200,000 in excess coverages per incident the moment an Uber driver logs on to the Uber app until the driver accepts a request to transport a passenger, and from the moment the ride is complete, and until the driver either accepts another ride request on the Uber app or logs off. Cal. Pub. Util. Code §§ 5433(c), (c)(1), and (c)(2).


Uber provides the following graphic to its drivers to illustrate at which stages it provides insurance coverage and in what amounts. But while Uber may position itself as doing drivers a favor by maintaining insurance coverage for its drivers, it's actually required to do so under California law to protect the public from its drivers' negligence and misconduct.


6 views0 comments

© 2020 by Watson Law Group, APC.  All Rights Reserved. Attorney Advertising.